Wednesday, August 31, 2011

New Insomnium track

It’s time for another new track this week, this time from Finland’s gloomy melodic death metal band, Insomnium with a free download of their new song ‘Unsung’. If you hop on over to Century Media now you can download it or you just scroll on down here for the stream. It’s more dense riffing with the usual downcast melodies, their formula appears unchanged. The last album was tight but here’s hoping they could possibly top Above The Weeping World. The new album One For Sorrow is released on September 30th.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

New As You Drown track

Swedish death metallers As You Drown are streaming a brand new track online, from their new album Rat King, coming in October through Metal Blade. ‘You Should Be Paranoid’ can be heard below.

Like the material of its 2009 predecessor Reflection, this new song is a thick heavy of death metal with a modern sheen. The influence of the band’s imperative fellow countrymen, the likes of Unleashed and At The Gates, is written all over As You Drown but it’s the sound of contemporary death metal in a different generation. Have a listen for yourself:

Saturday, August 27, 2011

Alright The Captain - Twisted Pepper, 24/8/11

Check out this live review of Nottinghman math rockers Alright The Captain in the Twisted Pepper last Wednesday night by clicking HERE. Dublin's Wiltz supported.

Friday, August 26, 2011

Killswitch Engage off hiatus

Killswitch Engage have begun writing a new record, according a Facebook update from Adam D – “YO! Its Adam D! We're about to begin writing our new record. Thanks to all of our fans for waiting so friggin' let's turn on the "riff faucet" and RAGE!”

The band has been on hiatus since the touring cycle for their 2009 self-titled album came to an end. Adam D released the Times of Grace album with former Killswitch vocalist Jesse Leach with subsequent touring, Mike D’Antonio reconvened Brian Fair and Pete Cortese for the new hardcore band, Death Ray Vision and Justin Foley has been lending his drumming skills to Unearth.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Envinity? “the most pretentious metal band in the world”

What I could do here is write a very long post about this band Envinity, whose incredibly pompous album release is something you have to see to believe. But the guys over at Metal Sucks have beat me to it and done so infinity-times better than I could have. Check out that post HERE.

And to get a flavour of what we’re talking about
HERE is the band’s singer talking annoyingly over a snippet of the album. Stupidly, embedding is disabled on the clip, so also have a look at the full album package, which includes the all-important gag reel!

In other news, this is the 600th post on The Grind That Annoys. Thanks Envinity...

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

New Fuck The Facts track

One of grindcore’s finest, Fuck The Facts are streaming a new track, ‘Drift’, now on Relapse Records’ Soundcloud. The song is taken from their forthcoming new full-length album, Die Miserable. Guitarist Topon Das stated recently that this new album was going in a more death metal oriented direction and that seems to have come to fruition, at least on this track.

Meanwhile, Mel Mongeon’s vocals are as caustic and corrosive as ever with the wall of riffs and unyielding drumming still being utterly pummelling, as if you would expect anything less, but the song clocks in at slightly longer time than usual. Listen to the track below and also check out the artwork for Die Miserable, which is released on October 11th.

FUCK THE FACTS - Drift by RelapseRecords

Evan Brewer - Alone

Former Reflux bassist and current member of The Faceless, Evan Brewer has released his debut solo album, Alone. It's a mind-bending instrumental record explored entirely with bass, which has to be heard to be believed. Check out the review HERE.

New song from 3, new album coming next month

New York prog rockers 3 will release their new album, The Ghost You Gave To Me next month through Metal Blade. It is the long awaited follow-up to 2007’s The End is Begun album and Revisions in 2009, an album that saw a re-working of older material. The band is streaming the song ‘Numbers’ now, which is a beast to say the least, opening methodically only to erupt with heaving riffs and Joey Eppard’s absolutely distinct vocals. Have a listen to song below now.